Skip to content

Deleting Resources and Values

Knora does not actually delete resources or values; it just marks them as deleted. To mark a resource or value as deleted, you must use the HTTP method DELETE has to be used. This requires authentication.

Mark a Resource as Deleted

The delete request has to be sent to the Knora server using the resources path segment.

HTTP DELETE to http://host/resources/resourceIRI?deleteComment=String

The resource IRI must be URL-encoded. The deleteComment is an optional comment explaining why the resource is being marked as deleted.

Mark a Value as Deleted

The delete request has to be sent to the Knora server using the values path segment, providing the valueIRI:

HTTP DELETE to http://host/values/valueIRI?deleteComment=String

The value IRI must be URL-encoded. The deleteComment is an optional comment explaining why the value is being marked as deleted.

Once a value has been marked as deleted, no new versions of it can be made.